Annual Employee and Team Awards Presented by CMC/DHK

June 18th, 2015

L to R: Art Nichols, President/CEO; Deborah Malila, LNA, HUC; Cherie Holmes, MD, Associate Medical Director

Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene (CMC/DHK) recently presented the 2015 Annual Presidents' Service Excellence and Chairman's Awards. The Presidents' Service Excellence Award is presented for extraordinary service characterized by compassion, responsiveness to the needs of others and a positive team-oriented attitude. The recipients of the annual Presidents' Service Excellence Award were: Deborah Malila, LNA, Health Unit Coordinator (HUC), Women and Children's Health Unit for being a professional dedicated to patient care, a hard worker and a dependable team member; and Debra Robinson, RN, Clinical Leader, Pain Clinic for her work as a strong patient advocate, effective teacher and an inspiring colleague who leads by example.

Photo at right: L to R: Art Nichols, President/CEO;
Deborah Malila, LNA, HUC;
Cherie Holmes, MD, Associate Medical Director

Cherie Holmes, MD, Associate Medical Director; Debra Robinson, RN, Clinical Leader; Art Nichols, President/CEO

Photo at left (left to right): Cherie Holmes, MD,
Associate Medical Director; 

Debra Robinson, RN, Clinical Leader; 
Art Nichols, President/CEO      

The Chairman's Award recognizes teams who work to continuously improve the quality of CMC/DHK's health services. Over the years, the Chairman's Award has been presented to a number of deserving groups that improved operations or patient safety. Two CMC/DHK teams received the 2015 award.  

"NCIS" Team Photo

The Nursing Clinical Investigative Series "NCIS" Team consisting of Paula Hudon, MS, RN-BC; Jacquelyn Ethier, BSN, RN; Victoria Zimmerman, BSN, RN; Celia Pearson, BSN, RN-BC; Kristen Earle, RN, CMSRN, OCN; Joan Brown, RN, BSN, OCN; Kimberly Farris, BSN, RN; Terri Skantze, RN; and Amoriel Robinson, BSN, RN received the Chairman's Award for developing a scenario-based nursing education program focused on problem-solving and critical thinking to identify patient-specific needs, while utilizing data and patient stories. The participating nurses reported that they now approach each patient equipped with this new knowledge, resulting in improved patient care. The "NCIS" Team continues to actively work with the nursing staff incorporating real-time monitoring, coaching, and quality improvement in day-to-day patient care.

"NCIS" Team Photo – L to R: Jacquelyn Ethier, BSN, RN, Director Inpatient Services; Paula Hudon, MS, RN-BC, Director Clinical Practice and Education; Amoriel Robinson, BSN, RN, Clinical Leader Farnum Rehab; Victoria Zimmermann, BSN, RN, Clinical Nurse Educator ICU-CCU; Terri Skantze, RN, Clinical Leader ICU-CCU Missing: Celia Pearson, BSN, RN-BC, Staff Development Educator; Kristen Earle, RN, CMSRN, OCN, Clinical Informatics Nurse; Joan Brown RN, BSN, OCN, Clinical Nurse Educator Thompson Unit; and Kimberly Farris, BSN, RN, Clinical Leader Thompson Unit

Orthopaedics Transformation Team

The Orthopaedics Transformation Team which includes Jill Beam, RN; Paul Bettinger, MD, Orthopaedic Surgeon; Wendy Brown, CMA; Heidi Clark, LPN; Tate Erickson, AT-C; Megan Gallagher, CMA; Meloney Hayward, RT (R)(M); Susan Maydwell, PA-C; Rebecca Pratt, RN; Michelle Robidoux; and Mark Stevens, LPN; received the Chairman's Award for their 18-month effort to improve patient care and streamline processes by investigating organizational structures and implementing the team model approach. They met their goal of providing patient-focused care with improved phone access for patients and outside providers, and streamlined communications with referring providers.

Orthopaedics Transformation Team – First Row: Megan Gallagher, CMA, Orthopaedic and Podiatric Surgical Scheduler; Jill Beam, RN, Clinical Leader; Wendy Brown, CMA Second Row: Meloney Hayward, RT (R)(M) Lead Technologist North Radiology; Paul Bettinger, MD, Orthopaedic Surgeon; Mark Stevens, LPN Top Row: Tate Erickson, AT-C, Administrative Practice Leader Missing: Heidi Clark, LPN; Susan Maydwell, PA-C; Rebecca Pratt, RN Clinical Leader; Michelle Robidoux, Administrative Coordinator

CMC/DHK congratulates all of the Annual Presidents' Service Excellence and Chairman's Award recipients for their dedication to CMC/DHK's patients and community.

For more information contact Sandra Phipps at (603) 354-5403.

About Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene

Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene is a nonprofit community hospital and clinic with a mission to lead our community to become the nation's healthiest through our clinical and service excellence, collaboration, and compassion for every patient, every time. Founded by CMC/DHK, Healthy Monadnock 2020 is a community-wide health initiative designed to actively engage the citizens of Cheshire County in the process of becoming the nation's healthiest community by 2020. Cheshire Medical Center is a Dartmouth-Hitchcock affiliate hospital. To learn more, call (603) 354-5400 or visit