Toolkits & Resources



Mt. Caesar School Champions School Wellness in Year Two!

Submitted by School Champion, Mt. Caesar Elementary SchoolMt Caesar School Wellness Committee

The Mt. Caesar School Wellness Committee has worked with Healthy Monadnock 2020 on an annual basis since 2012 to become School Champions.  This school year is our second full year we have been pleased to have the support of the Advocates for Healthy Youth coalition as well, who have graciously given Mt. Caesar $200 to help with the implementation of our school’s action plan.  Healthy Monadnock 2020 states that by working TOGETHER, we can become the healthiest community in the nation.  Mt Caesar School is part of a “grass-roots effort to make the healthy choice the easy choice for students and families, teachers and other school staff”.  Kelsey Plifka, Community Health Education Coordinator at Cheshire Medical Center Dartmouth-Hitchcock Keene, attended our staff meeting to present another Gold School Champion Star to our school which we will attach to our Healthy Monadnock 2020 School Champion banner!

Mt. Caesar has participated in the 5-2-1-0 program which advocates eating at least 5 fruits and vegetables daily, engaging in 2 hours or less of recreational screen time, being active for an hour daily, and reducing sweetened drinks to zero.  The UNH Department of Theatre and Dance spring ArtsREACH tour will perform “Rollie Robin” for Mt. Caesar students on February 12th at the Monadnock Regional High School auditorium.  This charming production, which focuses on making healthy choices, is about a bird that discovers junk food and video games - and becomes unhealthy. With help from Solomon Fish and Samantha Skunk, Rollie learns to make healthier lifestyle choices and our school will follow suit!

Featured in photo: Kelsey Plifka from HM2020 with Mt. Caesar School Wellness Committee members, Kim Sheridan, RN, Judy Lundahl, Judy Boufford, Principal Dr. Lynn  Carey holding our new School Champion Gold Star, & Marilyn Hurley.  Wellness committee members not shown: Melissa Alexander, Gina Sullivan and Kelly Smith.